What Is WEEE?

All EEE and devices, which are damaged, broken, or irreparable for use, are called WEEE. (Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment). WEEE does not have any usage value.

Most of these wastes are considered as hazardous wastes. With the increase in technology use, these wastes formation is growing enormously around the world because of their large volumes and the harmful substances in their bodies.

In the WEEE Control regulation, the WEEE Categories are divided in 6 categories as follows:

  1. Refrigerators / Freezers/ Air Conditioners
  2. Large Household appliances (Excluding Refrigerators / Freezers / Air Conditioners)
  3. Television and Monitors
  4. Information, Telecommunication and Consumer Equipment (Excluding Television and Monitors)
  5. Lighting Equipment
  6. Small Home Appliances, Electrical & Electronic Equipment, Toys, Sports & Leisure Equipment, Monitoring & Control Equipment

A symbol to be used for electronic waste has been identified in WEEE Regulation with the number of 28300 and dated 22.05.2012 published by the Ministry of Environment and Urbanization. The symbol states that WEEE is not waste. Furthermore, the symbol indicates suitable collection points, collection centers and containers.

TUBISAD became the "Compliance Scheme" for the management of EEE by the Ministry of Environment and Urbanization on 21/08/2015. TUBISAD continues to work on management of  3rd and 4th  categories of WEEE regulation published by the Ministry of Environment and Urbanization.


Share This Page

Siteyi ziyaretiniz sırasında kişisel verileriniz siteyi kullanımınızı analiz etmek amacıyla çerezler aracılığıyla işlenmektedir. Daha fazla bilgi için tyk.org.tr sitesi Aydınlatma Metni’ni okuyabilirsiniz.